Is the 2017 Honda Ridgeline the Safest Truck on the Market?

March 20th, 2017 by

Honda RidgelineThe 2017 Honda Ridgeline earned the highest-available 5-Star Overall Safety Rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).* With this accomplishment, the Ridgeline adds to its list of recognitions and assets, topping competitive pickups on the road in the realm of safety and more.

About the Rating

To earn the rating from the NHTSA, the Ridgeline led the scores in the frontal crash tests for drivers and passengers, side crash tests for both rear and front seats, and in the rollover test, yielding an overall score of the highest-possible 5 stars. It is an especially notable distinction because the 2017 Ridgeline is the first model of its total redesign after a hiatus that spanned several years. The distinction is evidence of Honda’s deep commitment to safety and innovative engineering.

Standard Safety

Helping the Ridgeline to earn these top honors is engineering and design that takes safety as its top priority. Standard safety equipment on the Ridgeline includes Advanced Compatibility Engineering (ACE) body structure, Vehicle Stability Assist with Traction Control, anti-lock brakes, side curtain airbags, advanced front airbags, and front side airbags.

Driving Aids and Technology

Not only does the engineering of the Ridgeline tip the scales of the NHTSA’s tests, but this pickup also comes equipped with a long list of driving aids and technology features. notes, “The Ridgeline offers driver aids not offered by the competition…” Some of the driving aids you can find inside the Ridgeline as a part of the Honda Sensing suite include:

  • Collision Mitigation Braking System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Road Departure Mitigation
  • Lane Departure Warning
  • Lane Keeping Assist System
  • Adaptive Cruise Control

Find out More

Get more information about the 2017 Honda Ridgeline safety features and distinctions by contacting or visiting any Tri-State Honda Dealer. Sit behind the wheel for a test drive and see why families are considering swapping SUV and minivan options for this impressive pickup.

*Government 5-Star Safety Ratings are part of the U.S. Department of Transportation’s New Car Assessment Program ( Model tested with standard side airbags (SAB).